Slow cooked brisket ragu 

I love Italian food, especially when I go to a great pasta place which serves homemade pasta with amazing sauces and ragu. I follow @padellapasta on Instagram (I advise you do too) and they make the most mouthwatering pasta dishes. I am yet to visit but it is on my asap list so next time I am near bourough market I will be paying them a visit. This dish is in homage to padella and is amazing if I do say so myself!

Serve with homemade pappardelle.

Ragu ingredients

500g beef brisket
3/4 carrots
2 celery sticks
3 small red onions
A few sprigs of rosemary
4 rashes of bacon (back English type bacon)
A few bay leaves
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
Glug of red wine
Can of tinned tomatoes
Beef stock cube

Method

I use a slow cooker for this recipe but you could do it in a large dish in the oven. Dice they celery, carrots, onions and bacon and fry in a glug of oil until the onions have become transparent.


Transfer  this mix to the slow cooker. Imbed the brisket among the veg and then add the rosemary, bay leaves, crushed garlic, tinned tomatoes, red wine and stock cube (and wash out the tomato tinned with a bit of water and add). Set the slow cooker to low/medium and cook for around 6 hours – low and slow.


After the time, the beef brisket should fake to pieces. You can either shred the beef in the dish or remove it, shred it on a board and add back to the sauce.

Season the ragu and then enjoy with homemade pappardelle. Delicious!!

Leave a Reply

